Daily Archives: 3 January 2013


Alaska Statehood Stamp

At the risk if irritating any Alaska Independence Party members that have happened to stumble upon this page, it was on this date in 1959 that Alaska became the 49th State.

After decades of fighting “the powers that be”, President Eisenhower signed the Alaska Statehood Act on 7 July 1958, which allowed Alaska to become a state on 3 January 1959.