Alaska Statehood Stamp

At the risk if irritating any Alaska Independence Party members that have happened to stumble upon this page, it was on this date in 1959 that Alaska became the 49th State.

After decades of fighting “the powers that be”, President Eisenhower signed the Alaska Statehood Act on 7 July 1958, which allowed Alaska to become a state on 3 January 1959.

About icefogger

Just a basic, down to Earth, laid back type of guy here, who loves the outdoors, the indoors, jazz on the turntable, a fire in the woodstove, the northern lights blazing across the sky, and the company of good friends. View all posts by icefogger

One response to “Statehood

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: